Football packages to La Liga

Football-packages La Liga

The English Premier League, often referred to as the EPL, is recognised around the world as the best league in the world. Players from across the globe dream to play at famous grounds such as Old Trafford, St James Park, Stamford Bridge, The Emirates Stadium and Anfield, amongst others. In recent years, some of the world’s most expensive players have enthralled Premier League crowds across the country and have been watched by millions across the world. In fact, the Premier League is so popular around the globe it is broadcast in 212 countries giving EPL games a potential television audience of 4.7 billion people. That worldwide television revenue alone generates £billions each year and is distributed amongst the clubs depending on their final standing the previous year. For this reason, promotion to the English Premier League is highly prized and fiercely fought over in the English Championship.

Contested by 20 clubs, the English Premier League operates a system of promotion and relegation similar to the main football leagues worldwide. As well as English teams those clubs from wales who play in the English Football League can also qualify to enter the EPL; recent examples include Cardiff City and Swansea City Football Clubs.


Currently, the top four teams in the league qualify to enter the UEFA Champions League with the first three entering the group stage directly and the team in fourth place must enter a play off in order to win a place in the group stages.

The English Premier League season runs from August to May and each team plays the other clubs twice, both home and away giving a 38 game season. So popular has the league become that in the 2010-11 season the English Premier League reached new heights with stadium occupancy reaching an average of 92% with the typical attendance at games being 35,363. The leagues success has continued to grow year on year and, in fact, based upon the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) coefficients the EPL continues to be ranked second amongst the leading European competitions and has been for the past five years.

Since its inception in 1992, the dominant team in the English Premier League has been Manchester United who have won an amazing 13 EPL titles in 23 years. United’s nearest rivals Chelsea have won the league 4 times with Arsenal trailing with 3 titles. The only former EPL champions who do not currently compete in the EPL are 1995 winners Blackburn Rovers.


Fixtures 2024 | 2025

Tickets and hotel packages to La Liga

Tickets to La Liga games can be booked at individual clubs websites or other brokers. However, like many European football leagues, clubs season ticket holders often get allocated tickets a week in advance of the general public, so if you are planning on being a regular visitor to a particular club maybe a season ticket is the way forward.

Spain is a popular haven for tourists and as such there is an excellent rail and road network ideal for the holidaymaker and international sports tourist. All the La Liga clubs are within easy reach by rail or road, however, for the international footballing fan Spain is well catered for by air. Barcelona (El Prat) airport serves the Catalan region in the east of the country, in the centre of Spain three airports converge on Madrid whilst Santander airport serves the north of the country whilst in the south Granada airport bring tourists to the gorgeous beaches of the Mediterranean. Finally, in the west of the country Celta Vigo airport brings holidaymakers to the legendary tourist destinations that have made Spain so popular in recent decades.


After being initially proposed in 1929 the Real Federación Española de Fútbol finally agreed on a ten team format for the inaugural Primera División in 1929. When deciding on the clubs who would form this new league the previous winners of the Copa del Rey were given priority. As such, Barcelona, Real Madrid, Real Sociedad, Athletic Bilbao, Real Unión and Arenas Club de Getxo were the first teams selected for the Primera División. This was followed by perennial Copa del Rey runners up Atlético Madrid, Espanyol and Europa before the final league placing went to Racing de Santander who won a knock out competition. Interestingly, of the original clubs who founded the league, way back in the summer of 1929, only Athletic Bilbao, Barcelona and Real Madrid have never been relegated from the top tier of Spanish football.

The Madrid team of 1961 was considered to be one of the greatest ever and won the league 5 times in an unbeaten sequence until 1965. From then on the club dominated La Liga until 1980 when the club won the championship title no less than 14 times.

However, it was the legendary Barcelona team of 1988 when Johan Cruyff brought together the likes of Josep Guardiola, José Mari Bakero, Txiki Beguiristain, Goikoetxea, Ronald Koeman, Michael Laudrup, Romário, and Hristo Stoichkov to form what became known as the Dream Team. It was this legendary team that went on to win four championships between 1991 and 1994 as well as dominating all European competitions.